Former user

Anything that doesn't fit in the other forums.

Former user

Postby shodan » Tue May 11, 2010 6:13 am

Hi,

I work as a computer technician and I install windows a -lot-
and as part of my windows install I used to install AWC for all customer, pre-configured with about 100 nice wallpapers
about 2 month ago I decided to update my install kit, one of the programs I updated was AWC
just put the new exec in place of the other without visiting this site really,
did a test run everything seemed fine with all the software including yours
so I went ahead and put my update kit "in production"
then some time later, on my personnal desktop I started getting expiry warnings from awc
I thought uh-oh

a few days laters I started getting calls how to solve this, I had installed windows on about 40 machines in the mean time
I guess most people will just live with a warning popup everytime they boot and most will never figure out what a "AWC" is or what it does
well after this I decided to revert to not installing a wallpaper management program
this has caused some lost time and it's a bit disappointing but I guess everyone likes to "cash in" on their work at some point so I can't really blame yeah
but still there are other programs out there that change the wallpaper every 30 minutes and I chose yours specifically because it didn't have nagware or didn't bother the user -ever-

well except when they tried to change the wallpaper, those who called because they wanted to set a wallpaper of kittens or their kids enough to call me , I had to explain what awc was, how it worked, after a while I just told them to erase c:\windows\awc\*.jpg and then put their pictures in that folder that was less time consuming
and after a while I just explained how to remove awc that was even less expensive
but this is pretty much the final straw and I'll respect your wishes to be paid for use and not continue installing the old version either

anyway, here is some constructive criticism